CITY OF COOPERSVILLE REGULAR MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL

AUGUST 10, 2009

Mayor Kenneth L. Bush called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

Present: Council member Vander Kolk Council member Sprague

Council member Scherff Council member Whitman
Council member Crandle Council member Meintsma

Absent: Mayor Bush

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Whitman to excuse the absence of Mayor Bush. Carried unanimously. (2009-171)

Motion by Council member Crandle with second by Council member Meintsma to approve the minutes of the regular City Council meeting of July 27, 2009. Carried unanimously. (2009-172)

Motion by Council member Vander Kolk with second by Council member Sprague to approve payment on the invoice from OMM Engineering, Inc. totaling \$927.00. Carried unanimously. (2009-173)

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Vander Kolk to approve the checks written for the period ending August 10, 2009 totaling \$173,471.02. Carried unanimously. (2009-174)

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Meintsma to adopt a resolution transferring 25% of \$15,420.08 or \$3,855.02 from Major Roads to Local Roads. Carried unanimously. (2009-175)

Motion by Council member Whitman with second by Council member Sprague to appoint James Ward to the ZBA as a Planning Commission representative for a term of one year. Carried unanimously. (2009-176)

Motion by Council member Whitman with second by Council member Meintsma to approve a \$100.00 donation to the 2009 Red Ribbon Campaign. Motion fails due to a tie vote. (2009-177)

Motion by Council member Vander Kolk with second by Council member Sprague to postpone discussions on temporarily closing city hall on Fridays. Carried unanimously. (2009-178)

Motion by Council member Vander Kolk with second by Council member Sprague to go into closed session to discuss pending litigation as permitted under Section 8(h) of the Michigan Open Meetings Act. Motion carries with the following roll call vote:

Yea – Council members Vander Kolk, Sprague, Scherff, Whitman, Crandle, and Meintsma Nay – None Abstain – None Absent – Mayor Bush (2009-179)

Session was closed to the public at 7:15 P.M.

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Vander Kolk to reconvene to the regular City Council meeting. Carried unanimously. (2009-180)

Session was opened to the public at 7:35 P.M.

Motion by Council member Crandle with second by Council member Whitman to accept the Stroven Special Assessment Agreement as presented. Motion carries with the following roll call vote:

Yea – Council members Vander Kolk, Sprague, Scherff, Whitman, Crandle, and Meintsma Nay – None Abstain – None Absent – Mayor Bush (2009-181)

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Vander Kolk to receive and file the Council information packet, which contains: Muskegon Chronicle 7/18/09 article, "Coopersville recreation fees to rise;" Media Advisory—8/21/09; Coopersville Area Community Foundation Recreation Fund report; July permits issued; and Coopersville Area Historical Society August 2009 newsletter. Carried unanimously. (2009-182)

Motion by Council member Sprague with second by Council member Vander Kolk to adjourn. Carried unanimously. (2009-183)

Meeting adjourned at 7:55 P.M.	
Kenneth L. Bush, Mayor	Stephanie Pelkey, City Clerk